March 12, 2010

The Luxury In Reducing

Posted in Design Inspirations, houston interior design, Houston Interior Designer, Houston Interior Designers, Kitchen Appliances, Kitchen Remodels, Kitchen Renovations, Uncategorized at 11:35 pm by luxuryforthehome

By Leslie Hassler, Houston Interior Designer

You know when I think of reducing, I’m usually thinking about the reading on the scale.  Or some of those bills I hate to pay.  But today let’s just talk about reducing in the terms of energy.

The four parts of your home that consume the most energy are going to be heating/cooling, kitchen, bathrooms and laundry.  I don’t know about you, but we’ve done the basics of an automated thermostat, and yes my husband sets it higher/lower than I do.  And yes, since I’m female, I do feel entitled to bump it up or down according to my temperature at the moment.

So barring a new system, we’ve already replaced 25 windows in our home and have planned for new insulation in our 30 year + home.  But what I’m really planning for is the kitchen.  It is the heart of our home.  It opens to the living room and breakfast area.  I can see the boys playing outside, it is where everyone congregates, it is where we cook and we do cook.  We bake bread, make homemade pasta (nothing occupies two little boys like cranking the pasta machine), we sauté, we experiment, we contemplate working our way through Julia Child’s cookbooks.  But do you know what? Our kitchen stinks! Stinks to high heavens!

We have the original 1970’s cabinets; we don’t even have the clearance under the cabinets to push the pro-style Kitchen Aid mixer under the cabinet.  And yeah sure, the pantry is “extra-deep”, but why does that matter when the shelves are only 12” wide.  But do you want to know what the bane of my existence is in this kitchen?  The dishwasher.

As we have grown as a family, different things have become important to me.  Right now, I want to stuff it full, I don’t want to have to scrub or pre-rinse and I only want to do 1 load a day for goodness sakes.

But this is March, our focus on going “Green”.  So can we find a dishwasher that is a workhorse, looks good, and is energy and resource efficient?   I do believe we can.

By definition, an efficient dishwasher is going to be energy-efficient and use water sparingly.  It will offer you capacity (think tall tubs & XXL tall tubs) and it will offer you the world in customization.  Washing China? No Problem.  Only washing a ½ load? (As if) No Problem.  Want to air dry? No Problem.

So welcome, I’ve done some of the research for you.  And looking at the models and the ratings they receive from the Energy Star website, along with my personal opinion, I’ve narrowed it down to 3 models – 2 are ASKO & 1 is a BOSCH.

The higher ranking really goes to the ASKO D5893XXLHS.  It has 12 cycles, uses 187 KW/yr, and 3.8 gallons/cycle.  It has 3 racks with a ton of ability to adjust, holding 17 place settings.

Asko Dishwasher, D5893XXL

The Bosch, holds 15 place settings, but has a bit better energy efficiency (180 KW/yr), uses a bit less water and has 6 settings.  It is quiet and it has three internal trays. Bosch didn’t have an image of the inside of the dishwasher for me to share with you.

Bosch SHX68E05

But my favorite is the ASKO D 5253, a bit of both worlds.  It has the energy efficiency of the 5893.  It only has 6 settings, but still can hold 17 place settings and can be found for about the same cost as the Bosch.  This is the one that will make it into my new kitchen.  In fact, it may make it into my kitchen before the rest of the “new kitchen.”

Asko D5253XXL

Asko D5253XXL

So what is your checklist for a new dishwasher?

Energy Efficiency

Water Consumption

Tub/ Place Setting Capacity

# of Cycles

Price

And really, price should be one of the least considerations.  The dishwasher does not represent the major investment for your kitchen, but it is the one of the most used appliances in your kitchen.  So think about it, make the investment that will save you money and time at every use.

<!–[if !mso]>

The luxury of reducing

By Leslie Hassler, Houston Interior Designer

You know when I think of reducing, I’m usually thinking about the reading on the scale.  Or some of those bills I hate to pay.  But today let’s just talk about reducing in the terms of energy.

The four parts of your home that consume the most energy are going to be heating/cooling, kitchen, bathrooms and laundry.  I don’t know about you, but we’ve done the basics of an automated thermostat, and yes my husband sets it higher/lower than I do.  And yes, since I’m female, I do feel entitled to bump it up or down according to my temperature at the moment.

So barring a new system, we’ve already replaced 25 windows in our homes and have been planning for new insulation in our 30 year + home.  But what I’m really planning for is the kitchen.  It is the heart of our home.  It opens to the living room and breakfast area.  I can see the boys playing outside, it is where everyone congregates, it is where we cook…and we do cook.  We bake bread, make homemade pasta (nothing occupies two little boys like cranking the pasta machine), we sauté, we experiment, we contemplate working our way through Julia Child’s cookbooks.  But do you know what? Our kitchen stinks! Stinks to high heavens!

We have the original 1970’s cabinets; we don’t even have the clearance under the cabinets to push the pro-style Kitchen Aid mixer under the cabinet.  And yeah sure, the pantry is “extra-deep”, but why does that matter when the shelves are only 12” wide.  But do you want to know what the bane of my existence is in this kitchen?  The dishwasher.

Let me be clear. As a child, my job was the dishes.  I have a theory – that which you were made to do as a child, you detest as an adult. I HATE dishes.  So, we are in our third dishwasher in this house, our third in 5 years.  As we have grown as a family, you know, different things have become important to me.  Right now, I want to stuff it full, I don’t want to have to scrub or pre-rinse and I only want to do 1 load a day for goodness sakes.

But this is March, our focus on going “Green”.  So can we find a dishwasher that is a workhorse, looks good, and is energy and resource efficient?   I do believe we can.

By definition, an efficient dishwasher is going to be energy efficient and use water sparingly.  It will offer you capacity (think tall tubs & XXL tall tubs) and it will offer you the world in customization.  Washing China? No Problem.  Only washing a ½ load? (As if) No Problem.  Want to air dry? No Problem.

So welcome, I’ve done some of the research for you.  And looking at the models and the ratings they receive from the XXX, along with my personal opinion, I’ve narrowed it down to 3 models – 2 are ASKO & 1 is a BOSCH.

The higher ranking really goes to the ASKO D5893XXLHS.  It has 12 cycles, uses 187 KW/yr, and 3.8 gallons/cycle.  It has 3 racks with a ton of adjustability, holding 17 place settings.

The bosch, holds 15 place settings, but has a bit better energy efficiency, uses a bit less water and has XX settings

But my favorite is the ASKO D 5253, a bit of both worlds.  It has the energy efficency of the 5893.  It only has 6 settings, but still can hold 17 place settings and can be found for about the same as the bosch.  This is the one that will make it into my new kitchen.  In fact, it may make it into my kitchen before the rest of the “new kitchen.”

So what is your checklist for a new dishwasher?

Energy Efficiency

Water Consumption

Tub/ Place Setting Capacity

# of Cycles

Price

And really, price should be one of the least considerations.  The dishwasher does not represent the major investment for your kitchen, but it is the one of the most used appliances in your kitchen.  So think about it,

