December 16, 2009

Luxury Platters For The Season

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:40 pm by luxuryforthehome

By Leslie Hassler, Houston Interior Designer

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah and Festive Kwanzaa! Well, I don’t know about you, but my social calendar is pretty full this time of the year.  And whether I am the hostess or the guest, I love the food we share even more when it is on a beautiful platter.  With that in mind, I wanted to share a few ways you could bring luxury home with these decorative platters.

I love theses Michael Wainwright platters.  The enamel work is beautiful, the colors are rich and the design really would work with so many peoples homes.  Brie served on these platters would probably be too luxurious to eat! Well, maybe…

Michael Wainwright, Almafi Serveware

Beautiful Enameled Trays from Michael Wainwright, Almafi series

Michael Aram seems to be everywhere this year, but I love the simplicity of this platter.  The olive branch detail offers a convenient handle, but the tray would look just as lovely on a fine cotton tablecloth as it would on a rustic linen tablecloth.  Whether a casual or sophisticated event, this platter would serve you well.

Williams-Sonoma, Michael Aram Platter

Williams-Sonoma, Michael Aram Platter

This line is one of those that just takes my breath away.  The simplicity and quality just shine.  I might almost have a hard time actually using this piece, because I just want to stare at it.  Want to impress?  This platter will do that and then some.

Saks Fifth Avenue,

Saks Fifth Avenue - Christofle - Silver Tray

I love pieces that are useful throughout the year.  If your signature color is red, then these “Kyoto” platters with gold embellishments are for you.  Red is known for being great to spark appetites and conversation, both ideal for your holiday gathering.

Neiman Marcus - Kyoto Platters

Neiman Marcus - Kyoto Platters by L'objet

Ok, not truly a platter, but functional and luxurious at the same time.  I don’t know about you, but my serving area in my kitchen is limited.  I love pieces like this that give height to the food I am serving, and take up so little space.  A great alternative to tiered serveware.

Horchow, Nambe Table Server

Horchow, Nambe Table Server

Best wishes for you and your family this holiday season, travel safe, eat well, enjoy your family and friends!

